Skip to main content

The Sarasota Ballet’s first program of the Season opens 26 October 2018 at the FSU Center for The Performing Arts with a triple bill featuring the Company Premiere of Martha Graham’s Appalachian Spring, alongside revivals of Ricardo Graziano’s Symphony of Sorrows and Galina Samsova’s production of Paquita. This program is a fitting opener to the 2018 – 2019 Season as it is a perfect example of the repertoire and values of The Sarasota Ballet, featuring classical ballets alongside modern and contemporary works, as well as choreographers of the past, present and future. Martha Graham is an American modern dance icon, one of the innovators of dance in America and a woman whose exceptional accomplishments include being the first dancer to perform at the White House, as well as the first dancer to receive the highest civilian honor—The Presidential Medal of Freedom with Distinction. For Appalachian Spring, two true American artists collaborated to create this beloved work, Martha Graham as choreographer and Aaron Copland as composer. As Meridee Duddleston wrote, the piece tells an “American story of courage, community and innovation, portrayed through the aspirations of a newly married couple settling in Pennsylvania.” Graziano’s Symphony of Sorrows is a contemporary ballet portraying people’s reactions towards death and the loss of a loved one. As one of his first commissioned works, the ballet demonstrates Graziano’s emotional maturity, which belies his youth and set the foundation for many of the ballets he has gone on to create. Closing the evening is the grand pas from Paquita, a dazzling display of pure classical technique, set to a melodious score by Ludwig Minkus. This production by celebrated Russian ballerina Galina Samsova was originally staged for the Sadler’s Wells Royal Ballet and offers a feast of Spanish themed dancing for the entire company.

Choreography by Martha Graham
Music by Aaron Copland

Choreography by Ricardo Graziano
Music by Henryk Górecki

Production by Galina Samsova
Music by Ludwig Minkus

CLICK HERE for the FSU Center for the Performing Arts seating map

Box Office: 941.359.0099
Phone: 941.359.0099
5555 North Tamiami Trail  Sarasota , FL  34243