Skip to main content

The Sarasota Ballet’s first program of the Season, titled Graziano, Retrospective, opening 25 October 2019 at the FSU Center for the Performing Arts, serves as a tribute to Principal Dancer and Resident Choreographer Ricardo Graziano’s tenth year with the company by featuring three of his choreographic works. Opening the program, Shostakovich Suite is his most traditionally classical ballet; premiered in 2011 and set to movements from Dmitri Shostakovich’s “Suite for Jazz Orchestra No. 2” and “Ballet Suite No. 2”, Shostakovich Suite is an eight-scene ballet demonstrating the aptitude of the company dancers whom Graziano has grown to know so well over the past decade. Next in the program, Graziano’s 2015 work, En las Calles de Murcia, not seen since its world premiere, returns to the stage; the choreography was inspired by the city of Murcia in southeastern Spain as well as the music of early eighteenth-century guitarist and composer Santiago de Murcia, bringing a distinctive vibrancy to the dance. Finally, the program closes with Graziano’s critically lauded In a State of Weightlessness; since its August 2015 world premiere at the Jacob’s Pillow Dance Festival in Becket, MA, the production, set to Philip Glass’s “Tirol Concerto for Piano and Orchestra”, explores concepts of lightness in motion while generating its own ethereal sort of emotional gravity. Critics rave, “Weightlessness is indeed weighted, with intensity and beauty” (Janine Parker, The Boston Globe, 2015) – a powerful finale to this celebration of Graziano’s growth and achievement over these past ten years.

“[Shostakovich Suite is] a fabulous spectacle to behold...Bravo.” - Sarasota Observer

“[En las Calles de Murcia]...made clear [Graziano's] voice, vision and skills have matured.” - Sarasota Herald-Tribune

“[Regarding In a State of Weightlessness] was hard to wait for the chance to applaud, which the audience sprang up to do...If this is the future, bring it on.” - The Berkshire Eagle

Choreography by Ricardo Graziano
Music by Dmitri Shostakovich

Choreography by Ricardo Graziano
Music by Santiago de Murcia

Choreography by Ricardo Graziano
Music by Philip Glass

CLICK HERE for the FSU Center for the Performing Arts seating map

Box Office: 941.359.0099
Phone: 941.359.0099
5555 North Tamiami Trail  Sarasota , FL  34243