Skip to main content

In honor of the iconic choreographer George Balanchine and marking the 40th anniversary of his passing, Program 7 features a triple bill of his ballets. The program opens with Divertimento No. 15, choreographed to Mozart’s eponymous music and described as, “resplendent in line, dazzling in speed, calm in phrasing, tingling in musical precision.” Next, Balanchine’s The Four Temperaments abstractly expresses the “four humours” theory in a striking five-movement display of pure dance. Program 7 closes with the joyous return of Balanchine’s Western Symphony, a charming tribute to “Spaghetti Westerns” and the cowboy escapades popularized through media in the 1950s.

The Sarasota Orchestra will accompany this performance, conducted by Music Director of BalletWest Jared Oaks.

"[Divertimento No. 15], with the most sublime choreography ever made to music by Mozart, creates an ideal realm in which courtesy, chivalry, brilliance, serenity and expansiveness coexist and give off light." - The New York Times


"[Western Symphony]...keep[s] the audience smiling at the Wild West touches in the choreography...Here, as in so many other of his ballets, Balanchine sought to demonstrate that classical technique was almost infinitely flexible, that it could serve as a means of depicting any historical period or geographical milieu." - The New York Times

Divertimento No. 15
Choreography by George Balanchine
Music by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

The Four Temperaments
Choreography by George Balanchine
Music by Paul Hindemith

Western Symphony
Choreography by George Balanchine
Music arrangement by Hershy Kay


Click here for the Sarasota Opera House Seating Map

Box Office: 941.359.0099
Phone: 941.359.0099
5555 North Tamiami Trail  Sarasota , FL  34243