Skip to main content

Walsh, Graziano, Tudor & Layton opens The Sarasota Ballet’s 2016-2017 Season, A Decade of Director Iain Webb, on 28 October 2016 at the FSU Center for the Performing Arts. Dominic Walsh’s Wolfgang for Webb was the first commissioned work of Director Iain Webb’s tenure. This enigmatic and compelling ballet perfectly marries contemporary movement and theatricality. The program also includes a new work by Resident Choreographer Ricardo Graziano, Sonata in Four Movements, which received its world premiere on 19 August 2016 at The Sarasota Ballet’s engagement at the 1932 Criteron Theater in Bar Harbor, Maine. Also featured is the Sarasota premiere of Antony Tudor’s Continuo, an abstract ballet for six dancers created in 1971 and the precursor to Tudor’s The Leaves Are Fading. The program ends with Broadway legend Joe Layton’s witty The Grand Tour set to the popular music of Noël Coward. It tells the story of an elderly American tourist whose 1920’s era cruise is filled with world-famous celebrities, including Noël Coward and Gertrude Lawrence! 

Choreography: Dominic Walsh
Music: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

SONATA IN FOUR MOVEMENTS (World Premiere 19 August 2016)
Choreography: Ricardo Graziano
Music: John Knowles Paine

CONTINUO (Company Premiere)
Choreography: Antony Tudor
Music: Johann Pachelbel

Choreography: Joe Layton
Music: Noël Coward

Box Office: 941.359.0099
Phone: 941.359.0099
5555 North Tamiami Trail  Sarasota , FL  34243